house rules

*warning this is a long post* but I still hope you enjoy
Justin and I ventured out and bought our first home in September. Although I was warned not only by him but a lot of people that this was going to be a lot of work I shrugged it off and thought that the house would come together in no time. Well it is now nearing the end of May and I am now thinking wow, I feel like I have not accomplished enough in our house. I absolutely hate that feeling. I know deep down, that yes in fact we accomplished a lot but it took me a little bit to see this. So this post is basically to talk about some the random things we have done in the house so far. Of course, I didn’t take pictures of the projects before because I never really thought I would be brave enough to write any posts about my home, design, or lifestyle. BUT I changed my mind- yay for that.

Melody’s Room
First, Melody’s room has gotten the most attention- Mom and Justin painted the room a perfect shade of purple (which she loves) Second, I slowly gathered things overtime mostly from Target to build the perfect little girls room and she got some pretty awesome furniture that I used through my middle school and teenage years that is still my favorite. The butterfly hook is what I use to hang her clothes that she plans on wearing the next day or things we need to remember to take to school. Next, there is her bookcase with lots of and lots of toys as well as one of her closets that is full of them. I am still working out a system for these… haven’t tackled that to do list yet. Her other closet— Uh, yes it is in color order alphabetically, that is the OCD in me. (Mine is done this way, too) Lastly, I had this desk I used when I was little (it was a not so cute blue and cream) but we did a little paint overhaul and now it matches perfectly in her room.
Melody’s Bathroom
Her bathroom is being completed this weekend- I am currently painting it bubblegum pink. The rest of everything was previously picked. I adore the little touches that make it extra girly- all the white and pink and flowers of course!
Kitchen
Next is the kitchen. Why yes, we are missing a kitchen table- we got rid of ours and I haven’t found one I like so we eat at the kitchen island which works for now. I believe that Justin is going to build us a farmhouse table so we will see how that shakes out.  I did manage to move a shelf (ok Justin did) from the laundry to the kitchen and fill it with randomness… still needs some tweaking but it is getting there. I am still trying to come up with a good organizational system for the panty so we won’t even go there.
Family Room
This has become a less used room now that we moved the TV out of it, sad I know but it has been kind of neglected lately. I bought this awesome chest/drawer thing off Craigslist and stuck it in the entry way. It still needs a good sanding and staining but it works for now. I like how it greets me when I walk into the house- it was so empty in this space before. Next, we have the lovely couches and fireplace and stuff. The couches I adore- I am really into neutrals, grays, blues, and greens. I have tried to be a red and orange girl but I just never find the right shade I suppose.  I am hoping to add some more furniture rearrange, paint, and add much more artwork (like the artwork I mentioned in my last blog post).
Guest Bathroom
This was pretty simple to put together. Justin went crazy about 2 years ago at pier one and ta-dah. We have a made ready bathroom complete with décor. We added the toilet paper holder and towel ring. The shower curtain was left at our old condo and it just so happened to work out that it matched very well. I am sure eventually this room will evolve but right now it is pretty swell the way it is.
Laundry Room
I am pretty excited about this room, once we get the lawnmower and weed eater out. Yes, we have no outdoor storage or garage so they are stuck in here until we figure something out. Otherwise, I can’t wait to add some cabinets and organization in here. I think it will be super amazing looking once it is all done… I think I say that with everything though.
Office/Guest Bedroom/Workout Room
Right now it just looks like an office but we would like it to be all of the above that are listed. I found this awesome rustic table at a shop that was closing in Mt. Juliet (I was so excited to find it!) Then a few more Craigslist finds and we have what we’ve got so far. I would love to paint and add a workout area and pull out couch for guests when they come over. On that note, we need more guests I think. I will work on that *note to self, more guests
Master Bedroom
I love the large space we have to work with. We got our bedroom furniture from Ikea and thoroughly enjoy it although I thought it would be more brown, less black. Hmm. More on that later. We have hung pictures up without actual pictures (You probably noticed this in our office as well) Yikes… probably should work on that too. Justin picked out our super awesome lamps. I am pretty excited about that and we have the stuff to paint a canvas for over the bed.
Master Bathroom
We haven’t done much in here other than the shower curtain and the stuff on the sink. So, maybe more on the progress when I make some.
My closet
Justin worked his awesomeness by making me a SHOE WALL… so awesome. I believe it is my favorite thing in the world. Next, of course my clothes are in color alphabetical order. I have a space for hats and necklaces as well as purses. I want to find a way to not make the purse area so pouffy but I will eventually get there.

So there is the house in all its glory. There is so much work to be done & most of the time so little time to do it. I believe I will post my to-do list next…maybe with a little tutorial on staying organized. Yes, yes. I think that would be nice.

All the photos are now down at the bottom due to a lovely glitch.. ah!

Leave me a comment and let me know how your house is coming together. Has it been easy? What has been your biggest challenge?

P.S. I will take better quality photos next time. My phone just doesn’t cut it- time to pull out the nice camera.

One response to “house rules

  1. I’m so jealous of your house. It’s beautiful!

Leave a Reply

